Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:22 a.m. - 2006-09-06
art class, my mornings
wednesday, september 6.

every morning I wake up somewhere around 7:37 or 7:44 (snooze alarm times). then I spend the next half hour listening to streaming WXPN, petting my dog, and getting in my pre-workday internet time. I guess it's one of the perks of living a five minute bike ride for work; there's no need for me to hurry in the morning. it can be a drawback too. half the time I find myself still in the office at 8:30, completely unshowered and in a bad way of laziness inertia. . . . this morning being a prime example.

My art history class started last week and now it's really down to business. i had a one page essay due yesterday and frankly it freaked me out a little. I haven't written a paper in so long; it felt kind of forced where it used to come so naturally to me. we had to do a compare and contrast of two paintings, by Giotto and Cimabue. I know a move toward Renaissance is supposed to be all great and stuff, but frankly I like the Byzantine better.

I started thinking in simile. Early Renaissance is like a thirteen year old kid that will be handsome eventually, but right now he's pimply, gangly, with braces and a bad haircut. Byzantine is like a funny looking eight year old kid with a big nose and ears that stick out. But there's something more charming about that, right? I probably should have put that in my essay instead of some boring pap about perspective.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!