Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:52 p.m. - 2005-02-10
ash wednesday and busy
thursday, february 10.

busy with all the little things. tonght I need to pick up printer ink, pantyhose, my drycleaning. I mailed some valentines this morning. It feels good to get mail out to my grandpa ("farm grandpa"), a friend I've owed a letter for months, my parents. all the people I think of near daily, I should let them know.

i went to church last night. Ash Wednesday. found a place on my way home from work and entered a new sanctuary. i love churches in the city, built so many decades ago, with their pointy gothic dark wood altars, vaulted ceilings, stained glass. they even smell old. it's sad though, because most of them are so empty nowadays.

It was a nice service, and I'm glad I went. Growing up, I really dreaded wednesday night church. Now that I'm older, I found there's something I really appreciate about a midweek service. Breaks up the week a little bit, gives me something to think about.

Hm. In case you can't tell, I'm feeling churchy and Lenten today. Sufjan Stevens in the headphones.

and hard at work. Part of the story I'm working on is about the first Earth Day, and I was instructed to not include pictures of hippies. . .wait, first earth day, no hippies? does not compute.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!