Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:51 p.m. - 2005-01-31
Mount St Helens and Pompeii
monday, january 31.

Last night I had a dream about a song. I'm fairly certain this is the first time that's ever happened. It was kind of nice. I dreamt I was singing Mirah's "Mount St. Helens."

(Mount St. Helens erupted the day after I was born.)

Yesterday Mike and I watched "Pompeii: The Last Day" on the discovery channel. (Hence the volcano song dream; I love how my dream-brain works.) It started out fairly interesting, but ultimately I was disappointed by the show. The last hour turned into a huge scare tactic about how Vesuvius is going to blow again, ANY DAY NOW!!!!! And they had all these computer renderings of Italian villages being decimated. So you'd better watch out!! Also, they used the phrase "pyroclastic flow" about 18 thousand times without ever really explaining what it was.

I really enjoy adding new things to my cooking repertoire, especially when I cook from a recipe and it actually turns out. I used to have a lot of trouble with recipes, I think I'm conquering it though. I am only partially ashamed to admit I saw something on 30 Minute Meals with Rachel Ray and made it about 3 hours later. I really really hate how Rachel Ray says "E V O O" instead of just saying olive oil. gaahh!! annoying.

The food was great, and it actually did only take 30 minutes. Wonder of wonders. So yeah, I made Green Eggs and Ham! Essentially, ham and eggs with pesto sauce. It sounds like a weird combination, but it really works. My first time making pesto, too! I was pleased. I'd wager this will be a staple meal once I have kids.

today's leftovers are a bounty, too: spinach salad with pine nuts, toasted french bread with mozzarella. I should eat spinach more often, it makes me feel really healthy.

Good weekend: a nice mix of social time (brunch with the indiebrides, my friend val's birthday party saturday night) and downtime (wearing my pajamas almost all day yesterday).

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!