Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:18 p.m. - 2004-12-15
quiet wintertime katie
wednesday, december 15.

i've been thinking about the sinter solstice. dark wintertime; comforts.

My mom always says that she enjoys the dark of wintertime, because everyone stays in the house at night, it's cozy.

Even though I feel bluer when the sun goes down at 4 PM, the older that I get, I see her perspective. I've been seeking my winter comforts lately.

Tonight I made grown-up macaroni and cheese (elbow macaroni with alfredo sauce, colby jack, and basil), and had yellow tail shiraz, my favorite, comforting red wine. I listen to folky or Christmas music all day at work, and I've been coming home to cook warm hearty food, light candles, paint a little, get under a blanket and watch The Simpsons or a movie with my roommate. It might seem boring, but I like it. It's freezing outside but I'm making a mental bulwark for myself from the cold.

I don't feel snappy or witty now, just soft and reflective. Quiet wintertime Katie.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!