Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:33 p.m. - 2002-09-09
beauty and sadness
monday. september 9. 6:30 PM

the 6-7 simpsons / seinfeld combo is like my post-work Godsend. yay!

so things are inching upwards every day. i just checked my email and there was a very positive response about a roommate. and you know, more and more I think I'd rather have male roommates. it's been so much easier in some respects. Plus I'm sure living with Max really put a positive spin on the male roommate thing.

I finished my first project at work today. After scanning illustrations, creating headline treatments, placing text, and color correcting, the stories "Inside Messy Monkey's Room" (kindergarten chapter one math story) and "Ollie Octopus Lost a Shoe" (kindergarten chapter four math story) are finished. I even had to create mock-ups, which was kind of fun in a nostalgic way; it reminded me of late late nights working on almost due projects. Plus, I realized it was a good thing I developed decent craft in school, now that I'm actually using it in a real job.

Man, if everything in my life really does come together, what am i going to have to write about here?

silly me.

ooh! I am so captivated by those Fanta commercials with "the fantanas." It would be even better if Fanta here tasted like european Fanta. that stuff was like liquid cocaine. my number one italian soda choice, followed closely by Coke Light.

and yeah, here comes the september eleventh media circus. maybe I'll celebrate by doing what we did in Rome, getting drunk and not thinking about it. Seriously, I know it sounds so cruel and harsh from a normal persons perspective, but it didn't seem like as big of a deal to us there as it did to people here. Imagine if you hadn't watched the news for weeks on end, if you hadn't seen the images over and over. Imagine if you hadn't seen any footage of the towers crashing down until December. Imagine if your life wasn't completely inundated by it through TV, merchandise, other people.

I don't know. It's hard for me to identify with it, because the time that most americans felt was the worst time in their lives (fall 2001), was the absolute best time in my life.

its like, I'm sorry that it happened. it was awful, horrific, life-shattering. for those who lost loved ones it must have been absolutely excruciating. but I'm also sorry that it hasn't been let go, that it feels like for as much patriotism people profess, it seems like nothings' changed except there's more flags on cars and more subjects for the media to run to the ground.

honestly, and wow, this makes me sound like a really terrible person. but I think maybe I resent it because it was the one really bad part of what was such a wonderful experience for me.

I've never told anyone that. so, there you go. secrets from me! they never stop.

wow, that was a tangent. i'd better stop now before I step on more people's toes.

but now I'm getting all soft inside. for as much crap as there is everywhere, there's just as much hope and love and joy if you look in the right places.

au revoir mes belles. the world is beautiful even in sadness.

katie.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!