Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:14 p.m. - 2005-02-08
roma, resume
tuesday february 8.

I've been Romesick lately, I think it's the crummy weather. What didn't help my romesickness was reading this new york times article about renting vacation apartments in Rome. The apartment featured in the article is, I kid you not, one door down from the place I lived while I was there. Here's an excerpt that made me cry with nostalgia:

"In fact, to the east of our apartment was a solid strip of restaurants, bars, boutiques and ice cream shops that led right to the Piazza Navona, and it all went into full cry starting in the afternoon. In the morning, there were temporary fruit and vegetable stands nearby. To the west and north the narrow cobblestoned streets stayed quiet all day. They were lined mainly with three- and four-story residences like ours, some galleries and antiques shops and the occasional jewel of a church or little piazza."

I could close my eyes and be right there.

Every once in a while I'll get this fleeting feeling that I NEED to go to Rome RIGHT AWAY. And I'll check airfares and think about how much would max out my credit card. While I've never actually done it, I wouldn't put it past myself.


my street in roma

last night I had some much needed crafting time. entered that elusive zen-ny feeling of focus, where time passes differently; haven't felt that in a while. i seriously got bitten by a crafty bug yesterday. there's still a lot to tick off my list of things to make, a lot of unused fabric and glitter and construction paper to work through.

I'll post pictures when I'm finished, but I was inspired by this craftster thread of kanzashi flowers. I have a long way to go before my technique is refined, but I love quiet repetitive handiwork. Hopefully I get that sewing machine from our wedding registry. . .

It's shaping up to be a busy free-time week. I've got something to polish; it starts with an R and ends with an esum�. I might have found a dream job. not getting my hopes up, though, just something to hope towards.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!