Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:37 a.m. - 2006-03-30
march little book, gardening
thursday march 30.

There's a new little book up on my flickr page. I made it about a two weeks ago, so it's kind of about going to texas, kind of about springtime. It's really green.

I've been thinking about how my art is progressing. And I know all of this stuff is baby baby steps, but I'm noticing something important: I'm not giving up, and I'm not immediately finding myself not good enough and consequently throwing in the towel. I used to start tons of projects that never really went anywhere because it didn't feel right to me. But with these books, I started out and kept doing it, and I definitely feel like I'm progressing. Each is better than the next. So even though it feels small, I'm pushing out of some rut and that's always a good thing.

Another observation: I'm still too tense in anything I produce (art and design) . . . . I want to be looser. I wish I could put a little more freedom it. I've always had this problem, and had a huge revelation once in college when a professor almost pushed me over the edge. I've never been able to get back there though.

Anyway. I really don't want to think about any of this. I want to sit quietly drinking coffee and watching the birds in the backyard. And spend hours looking at a burpee catalog making lists of what to plant in the garden. This weekend is Gardening weekend. Woo woo!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!