Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:59 p.m. - 2005-10-14
two good things. and a salad.
friday, october 14.

2 good things for Friday.

I've been keeping this secret to myself for a while. But I had to share eventually. One of my favorite websites is a street fashion site from Helsinki, Finland, hel-looks.com. A lot of the kids have a Metal thing going on big time, but there's also a lot of really interesting fashion photos. Like this one, my current favorite:

Gorgeous, right? Anyway, most of the photos are really inspiring and make me want to 1) start my own street fashion website. and 2) travel to Finland.

And to be honest, for the life of me I can't remember what the second good thing I was going to write about was. It's possible it was the song "Canyon Girl" by the Fruit Bats. Or the french press coffee I've been making every morning because we lost the coffee machine's filter somewhere in the move.

Oh wait! now I remember what the second thing is. It was the salad I made last night, improvised from a fuzzy memory of a recipe I read in one of my mom's magazines on my last visit home. But I'm terrible with recipes anyway.

Rough instructions: cut two sweet potatoes into 1/2 inch strips. Toss with olive oil, salt, and pepper, and bake for 25 minutes. Make a couple strips of bacon, really crispy, and crumble it up. Mix these last two things with a bunch of spinach. And top with chevre cheese cut into big chunks. AWESOME. You can choose to accompany it with tater tots and half a bottle of $9 beaulieu vineyards pinot noir, as I did, or not. I also think that it would taste excellent served as a side salad with tomato bisque soup.

Hello, my name is Suzy Homemaker, nice to meet you.

I feel like my blog has been really tame and suzy homemaker-y lately, but really, I haven't done anything that interesting in the past few weeks. Give me until Halloween though. I think I'm going to a party dressed as a giant, fully functional box of Franzia. I just need to figure out how to strap a bag of wine to my body though. I'm thinking an old messenger bag? Maybe that will be my weekend project. . . . .

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!