Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:43 p.m. - 2005-09-07
yay for pugs! boo for smooth jazz!
wednesday, september 7.

i made chicken soup for my sick husband after work today. I'm getting a lot better at cooking I think, this is probably the best soup I've ever made. (basic recipe here, though I made a few of substitutions, exchanges, additions.)

It's all about the technique. Right now I'm really into sauteeing things in not only butter or olive oil, but a little of both. I'm learning when to turn the heat down and when to turn it up, how large or small to chop things, the right spices to add. It's rewarding.

Other things that are rewarding? Working close to home and hanging out with my pug doggy every noonhour. Dogs are nice companions, ours especially. Ditka came and sat underneath my chair in our tiny garden while I had raspberry tea after lunch. And right now, she's laying on the ground next to the desk. So sweet.

Other than that, work is sort of. . . well, it's work. Have I told you about the smooth jazz? Oh yeah, I did. It's not really the music that bothers me but the fact that I can't control the noise in my work environment. I see now that the ipod/headphones were a crutch to my work ethic. I actually have a harder time designing without them. . . . so much so that I'm wondering about approaching the new bosses about bending company policy.

I'm feeling a little bummed right now. I don't think I'm used to the sun setting earlier and earlier every day. It's only 9:30 but it feels like the middle of the night already.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!