Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:55 a.m. - 2003-10-14
more saturated
tuesday, october 14.

slept late this morning through some of the strangest dreams I ever remember having. they've taken on a new quality of richness, they feel quilted or embroidered now, thick and fibrous. it skipped around a lot, but the main idea was that I was in a huge play with hundreds of characters. i remember looking at the cast list in the book and thinking, how are the directors ever going to coordinate that many people? and most of the parts didn't even have lines. I myself only had 7 lines, and I could never remember them, I only knew that they were important foreshadowing for the rest of the acts. other things: a gorgeous long red dress I wore to a brunch at my high school play director's house. strange breakfast foods. everyone smoking.

in between work, and wanting to spend most of my free time with Mike, I've been reading a lot. I'm definitely back into my reading mode, when any free minutes need to be reading minutes. Currently it's A Moveable Feast, which is enjoyable, not overly taxing. Last week I finished another Joyce Carol Oates novel, Middle Age. I'm wondering why it took me this long to discover Oates, her writing is perfect for me as novel-reading when I'm not trying to extend much beyond what I already know.

anyway. nerd break.

I just haven't felt very write-y lately. I've been having decent phone conversations, and a good thought-life, but the writing just isn't coming out. I'm brewing, I guess.

for a long while everything was in flux, or beginning, or ending, and now things are settling in a bit more. I'm thinking about what I want for my career life, and reconciliation, and the tiny germinating thoughts of how much the course of my life has changed in the past month. maybe. I need to let these things rest. it's the incubation stage.

it's raining and getting colder. i love the sight of wet yellow leaves. the grey skies make everything else more saturated, somehow.

PS. two things: someone from a Southwest Missouri State IP address found my diary by searching my name. I'm wondering if this is someone I knew from so long ago when I lived in Marshfield. if that's true, email me. katharinebridget AT yahoo.com. I do still wonder about people from my two years down south. and second: why does someone keep google searching "oltremare diaryland" to find the diary? seriously, if you know that much, it's not hard to figure out the rest. okay, the end.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!